Zardari working to impeach Alvi, Bilawal to consult with Nawaz today

ISLAMABAD: The Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) co-chairman Asif Ali Zardari met Maulana Fazl-ur-Rehman and Sardar Akhtar Mengal from the ruling coalition to discuss the removal of President Arif Alvi through impeachment.

The former president met the chiefs of Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam Fazal (JUI-F) and the Baloch National Party-Mengal (BNP-M) here in Islamabad to discuss President Alvis impeachment.

President Alvi ‘allegedly deliberately’ avoided two important events one the oath ceremony of Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif on 11th April and Federal Cabinet on 19th April and Chairman Senate Sadiq Sanjrani had to administer the oath on both occasions.

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan’s 23rd prime minister Shehbaz Sharif smiling while Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjarani administering the oath to federal cabinet on Tuesday.

The JUI-F chief, in the meeting, told Asif Ali Zardari that his party is bringing their candidate for the next president.

Asif Ali Zardari is looking to get the BNP-M chief in the cabinet. Sardar Akhtar Mengal, as a condition, asked for the formation of an inquiry commission for the Chaghi incident.

Sardar Akhtar Mengal, in the meeting, advised Asif Ali Zardari to check the numbers before making their decision. He also said the cabinet should be made in different stages. Mengal also said the coalition should stay united when making decisions.

34-member Federal Cabinet

Pakistan’s 23rd Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif’s Federal Cabinet (33 members) comprising members from the mainstream political parties of the country took oath on Tuesday at a swearing-in ceremony held here at the President House. 

ISLAMABAD: Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjarani administering the oath to federal cabinet on Tuesday.

Chairman Senate Sadiq Sanjrani administered oath to the cabinet members – 30 federal ministers and three state ministers, the ninth day after he had sworn-in Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif as the head of the government. President Dr. Arif Alvi avoided to attend the ceremony and to administer the oath and no excuse was tendered for the public information.

The 34th member (Foreign Minister Bilawal Bhutto Zardari) did not take oath today. He is going to London tonight to discuss some issues including inclusion of Baloch leaders into the cabinet with PML-N supreme Nawaz Sharif. He will likely take oath after his returns and talks with League leader.

Besides PM Shehbaz Sharif, the event was attended by senior politicians including Bilawal Bhutto, former prime ministers Yousuf Raza Gilani and Raja Pervaiz Ashraf, and a large number of parliamentarians, party workers, and government officials. 

The new cabinet reflected the political mix of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) and Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM).

Also, one member each from Balochistan Awami Party (BAP), Jamhoori Watan Party and Pakistan Muslim League-Q joined the cabinet. Balochistan National Party stayed away from becoming part of the coalition cabinet. 

ISLAMABAD: Former President Asif Ali Zardari and PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari discussing cabinet and other affairs with Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif in Islamabad on 14th April, 2022.

The opposition alliance had led to the ouster of Prime Minister Imran Khan from his office through a majority no-confidence vote in the parliament on April 10. 

On oath, the cabinet made its solemn pledge “to bear true faith and allegiance to Pakistan, discharge its duties honestly to the best of ability and faithfully in accordance with the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan and the law”. 

ISLAMABAD: PDM Chairman Maulana Fazlur Rehman and his son MNA Maulana Asad discussing cabinet and other affairs with Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif in Islamabad on 15th April, 2022

“I will strive to preserve the Islamic Ideology which is the basis for the creation of Pakistan. That I will not allow my personal interest to influence my official conduct or my official decisions,” said the new ministers in chorus-reading of the text of the official oath. 

The list of ministers categorized as per their political parties is as under:


Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N):

1. Khawaja Muhammad Asif, MNA 

2. Ahsan Iqbal Chaudhary, MNA

3. Rana Sana Ullah Khan. MNA 

4. Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, MNA 

5. Rana Tanveer Hussain, MNA

6. Khurrum Dastagir Khan, MNA

7. Marriyum Aurangzeb, MNA 

8. Khawaja Saad Rafique, MNA 

9. Mian Riaz Hussain Pirzada, MNA

10. Murtaza Javed Abbasi. MNA 

11. Azam Nazeer Tarar, Senator 

12. Miftah Ismail

Pakistan People’s Party (PPP):

13. Syed Khursheed Ahmed Shah, MNA

14. Syed Naveed Qamar, MNA 

15. Sherry Rehman, Senator 

16. Abdul Qadir Patel, MNA 

17. Shazia Marri, MNA 

18. Syed Murtaza Mahmud, MNA 

19. Sajid Hussain Turi, MNA 

20. Ehsaan-ur-Rehman Mazari, MNA

21. Abid Hussain Bhayo, MNA 

Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl:

22. Asad Mahmood, MNA

23. Abdul Wasay, MNA 

24. Mufti Abdul Shakoor, MNA 

25. Muhammad Talha Mahmood, Senator

Mutyahida Qaumi Movement (MQM):

26. Syed Amin-ul-Haque, MNA 

27. Syed Faisal Ali Subzwari, Senator 

Balochistan Awami Party (BNP):

28. Muhammad Israr Tareen, MNA 

Jamhoori Watan Party (JWP):

29. Nawabzada Shazain Bugti, MNA 

Pakistan Muslim League-Q (PML-Q)
30. Chaudhary Tariq Bashir Cheema, MNA


1. Dr. Aisha Ghaus Pasha, MNA – PML-N

2. Hina Rabbani Khar, MNA – PPP

3. Abdul Rehman Khan Kanju, MNA – PML-N

The cabinet also includes Advisers namely Qamar Zaman Kaira, Engineer Amir Muqam and Aon Chaudhry.

The President House in a statement issued prior to the oath-taking ceremony said that President Dr Arif Alvi had given formal approval to the names of the federal and state ministers, and advisers.