Modi pays tribute
to courage, sacrifice
of Jallianwala Bagh
massacre victims


NEW DELHI: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Wednesday paid tributes to the victims of the Jallianwala Bagh massacre and said that their unparalleled courage and sacrifice will keep motivating the coming generations.

Sharing the speech at the inauguration of the renovated complex of Jallianwala Bagh Smarak last year, PM Modi tweeted, “Tributes to those martyred in Jallianwala Bagh on this day in 1919. Their unparalleled courage and sacrifice will keep motivating the coming generations.”

Prime Minister Narendra Modi

PM Modi unveiled the renovated Jallianwala Bagh memorial through video conferencing on August 28, last year, and stated that those 10 minutes of April 13, 1919, became the immortal story of our freedom struggle, due to which we are able to celebrate the Amrit Mahotsav of freedom today. Jallianwala Bagh is the place that inspired countless revolutionaries and fighters like Sardar Udham Singh, and Sardar Bhagat Singh to die for the freedom of India.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah also paid tributes to the victims of the Jallianwala Bagh massacre and tweeted, “I bow to the courage and valour of the immortal martyrs of the Jallianwala Bagh massacre, which a symbol of the ruthlessness and brutal atrocities of foreign rule.”

Shah added, “Your sacrifice, dedication, and sacrifice for the freedom of Mother India will continue to inspire the coming generations to sacrifice for the unity and integrity of the country.”

Prime Minister Narendra Modi

The Jallianwala Bagh massacre took place on April 13, 1919, when troops of the British Indian Army, under the command of Colonel Reginald Dyer, fired machine guns into a crowd of unarmed protesters and pilgrims who had gathered in Jallianwala Bagh in Punjab’s Amritsar on the occasion of Baisakhi.

The crowd had assembled peacefully at the venue to condemn the arrest of two national leaders — Satya Pal and Saifuddin Kitchlew — when they were fired at indiscriminately by General Dyer and his men.

According to British government records, 379 people including men, women, and children were killed while 1,200 were wounded in the firing. Other sources place the number of dead at well over 1,000.

BJP victory in Uttar Pradesh

Following Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) clean sweep in the Uttar Pradesh biennial Legislative Council elections, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday said the party’s victory is an expression of people’s faith in BJP’s development model.

Taking to Twitter, Prime Minister said, “Many congratulations to all the winning candidates in the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council elections. This victory is once again an expression of people’s faith in BJP’s development model. Best wishes to Yogi Adityanathji’s government and all the workers associated with the party organization.”

JalianaWala Bagh

After the thumping victory in the state assembly elections, the ruling BJP also gained a majority in the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council for the first time.

“Today, BJP’s thumping victory in the local authority Legislative Council elections of Uttar Pradesh has again made it clear that the people of the state are with nationalism, development and good governance under the able guidance and leadership of the respected Prime Minister,” said Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath.

The party had earlier already won nine seats unopposed in the Legislative Council. On Tuesday, the counting of votes took place for 27 seats of which BJP candidates won 24. BJP has now managed to win 33 out of 36 seats.

The three seats where the party faced defeat include Azamgarh, Varanasi and Pratapgarh.

Vikrant Singh Rishu, the son of ex-MLC and expelled BJP leader Yashwant Singh won from  Azamgarh as an independent candidate. Annapurna Singh, wife of Brijesh Singh emerged victorious from Varanasi. Akshay Pratap Singh, a close aide of Raja Bhaiya, won from the Pratapgarh seat.

Some of the BJP winning candidates include Pragya Tripathi from Bahraich-Shravasti, Dinesh Pratap Singh from Rae Bareli, Brijesh Singh Prinshu from Jaunpur, Ratanpal Singh wins from Deoria-Kushinagar, Ramchandra Pradhan Lucknow-Unnao, Angad Kumar Singh from Barabanki and Avinash Singh Chouhan from Fatehpur. (ANI)