ICC names Babar Azam
captain of ‘Most Valuable
Team’ of T20 World Cup


LONDON: The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday released the “Official ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Upstox Most Valuable Team of the Tournament,” selecting Babar Azam as its captain. 

The team of the tournament included players from World Cup-winning Australia, runners-up New Zealand, semi-finalists England and Pakistan as well as Sri Lanka and South Africa. 

Opening batter David Warner, leg-spinner Adam Zampa and seamer Josh Hazlewood all made the cut for Australia after helping steer their side to first ever ICC Men’s T20 World Cup title. 

Pakistan’s Babar Azam secured the most coveted spot of captain, while left-handed destructive pacer Shaheen Shah Afridi was selected as the 12th man of the squad. 

England ace Jos Buttler, New Zealand left-armer Trent Boult and Sri Lanka star Wanindu Hasaranga – the tournament’s leading wicket-taker – were also part of the line-up.  

No Indian cricketer could make it to the ICC’s team of the tournament. 

The side was pulled together by a selection panel comprising commentators, former international players and journalists, including Ian Bishop (convenor), Natalie Germanos, Shane Watson, Lawrence Booth and Shahid Hashmi. 

“Captaining the side at No.3 is Pakistan skipper Babar, who was the only batter to break the 300-run barrier throughout the duration of the competition,” the ICC said of the Pakistan skipper. 

“His 68 not out against old rivals India powered Pakistan to a memorable 10-wicket victory, while three further half-centuries in the Super 12 stages helped book his team’s slot in the semi-final against Australia. And while they were unable to battle past Aaron Finch’s outfit, Babar helped himself to 39 in the first innings to finish his campaign in typically consistent fashion.” 

Taking his place as 12th man was Pakistan prodigy Shaheen Afridi, who started his tournament in style with a blistering new-ball spell against old foes India, the ICC said. 

“Afridi, 21, removed the talismanic top three trio of Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul and captain Virat Kohli to end with figures of three for 31 and lay the foundations for a memorable victory,” it said. 

“The left-arm pacer finished the tournament with seven wickets at 24.14 and will no doubt continue to star at multiple more ICC World Cup events throughout an exciting future career.”

The team of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 (in batting order)

 David Warner (Australia) – 289 runs at 48.16 

Jos Buttler (wk) (England) – 269 runs at 89.66, five dismissals 

Babar Azam (Captain, Pakistan) – 303 runs at 60.60 

Charith Asalanka (Sri Lanka) – 231 runs at 46.20 

Aiden Markram (South Africa) – 162 runs at 54.00 

Moeen Ali (England) – 92 runs at strike rate of 131.42, seven wickets at 11 

Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka) – 16 wickets at 9.75 

Adam Zampa (Australia) – 13 wickets at 12.07 

Josh Hazlewood (Australia) – 11 wickets at 15.90 

Trent Boult (New Zealand) – 13 wickets at 13.30 

Anrich Nortje (South Africa) – nine wickets at 11.55 

Shaheen Afridi – seven wickets at 24.14