Bizenjo takes oath
as Balochistan CM,
Jamali elected Speaker


QUETTA: Leader of Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) Mir Abdul Quddus Bizenjo on Friday took oath as the new Balochistan chief minister after he was elected to the office unopposed.

Balochistan Governor, Zahoor Ahmed Agha administered the oath to the newly-elected chief minister at the Governor House, Quetta, after he received 39 votes in the Balochistan Assembly. After Jam Kamal Khan Alyani had resigned as the Chief Minister last week following political turmoil in the province, the BAP leadership had nominated Bizenjo for the top slot.

Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly of Pakistan Qasim Suri, Punjab Governor Chaudhry Mohammad Sarwar and members of the national and provincial assemblies were also present in the ceremony.

QUETTA: Qasim Suri, Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly offering sweet to Mir Abdul Quddus Bizenjo after his election as Chief Minister of Balochistan. Syed Zahoor Ahmad Agh, Governor of Balochistan stands in the middle.

Bizenjo had gained the support of PTI Parliamentary Leader Sardar Yar Mohammad Rind, who announced that he was pulling out of the race and backing Bizenjo for the CM’s slot.

PTI’s parliamentary party in the province had named Rind for the position of the chief minister.

Besides Rind, no other candidate in the provincial assembly had filed nomination papers to contest against Bizenjo. Bizenjo said he would announce the future policy of his government in Saturday’s assembly session.

Earlier, Mir Abdul Qudoos Bizenjo was elected as the chief minister of Balochistan unopposed on Friday.

The Balochistan Assembly elected Mr Bizenjo as the new leader of the house. It is the second time that he has been elected to the office of the province’s chief executive. In Jan 2018, he was elected as the CM for the first time after former chief minister Nawab Sanaullah Zehri resigned from the office.

QUETTA: Members of Balochistan Assembly congratulating Mir Abdul Quddus Bizenjo for electing as Chief Minister of Balochistan unopposed.

Five nomination papers were filed on behalf of Bizenjo by Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) MPAs with the assembly secretariat. No other candidate filed the papers till 5pm on Thursday.

After the resignation of former chief minister Jam Kamal Khan, Bizenjo, an elected member of the provincial legislature from Awaran, also stepped down as the speaker of the assembly to contest the election for the slot.

Balochistan coalition partners decided to nominate him for the chief minister office and Mir Jan Jamali as Speaker of the provincial Assembly. Chairman Senate Sadiq Sanjrani addressing a press conference had announced the nomination of Abdul Quddus Bizenjo for the leader of the house in Balochistan Assembly.

Bizenjo talking to media, after his nomination papers filed, vowed to deliver in the province, my work is to deliver not talk only, he said. It seems there is only one candidate for the office, commenting on the election, he said.

Mir Jan Mohammad Jamali

A file photo of Balochistan Assembly Speaker Mir Jan Mohammad Jamali

Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) chief organiser Mir Jan Mohammad Jamali was elected unopposed as the Balochistan Assembly speaker on Saturday as no nomination papers were filed for any other candidate, the provincial assembly’s secretary said.

The post had fallen vacant earlier this week after the previous speaker Mir Abdul Qudoos Bizenjo stepped down as he was being considered for the office of the province’s chief executive. Bizenjo was sworn in as the Balochistan chief minister on Friday.

Balochistan Assembly secretary Tahir Shah said Governor Syed Zahoor Ahmed Agha had set the time for nominating candidates for the office of the speaker from 8:30am to 12pm. During that time five nomination papers were submitted for Jamali while no other candidate was nominated.

Shah said Jamali was elected as the speaker unopposed as per the assembly rules and there will be no voting in the assembly session at 3pm. Instead, the acting speaker will announce the elected speaker’s name, he shared.