ICC T20 World Cup 2021:
Pak squad against India announced


DUBAI: Pakistan captain Babar Azam has announced a 12-man squad for Sunday’s T20 World Cup 2021 clash with India in Dubai. Addressing a press conference in Dubai on Saturday, Azam named the shortlisted dozen men, from whom the final playing eleven will be picked.

From the 15-man complete squad, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Mohammad Nawaz and Sarfaraz Ahmed did not make the cut. The 12 men who remain in contention are Babar Azam (c) Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Shadab Khan (vc), Imad Wasim, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi and Haris Rauf.

Pakistan-India matches at a glance

AFP Sport looks at the first meetings of the two nations in the sport’s three formats:

Five years after the partition, India and Pakistan met for the first time to play a Test match in New Delhi in October 1952.

First Test — October 16-18, 1952

Five years after the Partition, India and Pakistan met for the first time.

Pakistan were actually playing their maiden Test match when they took to the field at New Delhi’s Feroz Shah Kotla ground.

In their ranks were Abdul Kardar and Amir Elahi who had both played Test cricket for India.

India won the toss, batted and piled up 372 with Hemu Adhikari top-scoring with 81 and last man Ghulam Ahmed hitting 50 in a 10th wicket partnership of 109.

In reply, legendary opener and skipper Hanif Mohammad made 51 before Pakistan collapsed from 64-1 to 150 all out with slow left-arm orthodox Vinoo Mankad famously taking 8-52.

Pakistan cricket T20 captain Babar Azam addresses a press conference

Mankad then picked up 5-79 as Pakistan, following on, were dismissed for 152 handing India victory by an innings and 70 runs.

First ODI — October 1, 1978

After Pakistan had won the Test series 2-0, the teams met for a three-game ODI series, the first between the two nations.

The opener was held in Quetta as India, who gave Kapil Dev his debut, made 170-7 in 40 overs with Mohinder Armanath top-scoring 51.

Pakistan were comfortable at 82-1 at one stage before slipping to 166-8 to lose by just four runs. Majid Khan stroked a half-century.

Pakistan then levelled the series with an eight-wicket win at Sialkot before the third game in Sahiwal ended in controversy.

Captains of ICC T20 teams

In sight of victory, India skipper Bishan Bedi was furious that Sarfraz Nawaz bowled four successive bouncers which were not called wide.

In protest, Bedi conceded the match.

First T20I — September 14, 2007

The rivals met in a T20 International for the first time at the 2007 World Cup in Durban.

The group match ended in a tie after both sides made 141 which meant a ‘bowl-out’ was used to decide the winner.

Mohammad Asif had taken 4-18 and Pakistan, who had already made sure of their place in the next round, looked set to win the match but Misbah-ul-Haq (53) was run out off the last ball.

In the bowl-out, Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh and Robin Uthappa all hit the stumps but Pakistan’s Yasir Arafat, Umar Gul and Shahid Afridi missed.

The two sides were to meet also in the final at Johannesburg with India claiming a five-run win. Meanwhile, Pakistan went to claim the 2009 title.