Pakistan, other countries ban travellers from UK


LONDON: Pakistan has become the latest country to impose restrictions on travellers from the United Kingdom because of concerns over the spread of the new variant of Covid-19. The new restrictions came into effect from midnight December 22 till Dec 29, 2020.

Among the other authorities imposing travel restrictions on passengers from the UK are: France, Ireland, the Netherlands, Belgium, Italy, Austria, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Denmark, El Salvador, Turkey, Canada and Hong Kong.

Parts of the UK are now under tier-4 lockdown to curb the spread of the new strain.

An official notification says Pakistani passport holders who travelled to the UK on visitor or temporary visas will be allowed to return if they test negative for PCR test, performed within 72 hours prior to the flight

A PCR test will take place on arrival in Pakistan and passengers will be required to stay at the airport or in a government facility until the test is taken.