Two victorious independent candidates of GB general elections join PTI


GILGIT: Two independent candidates have joined Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), who were declared victorious in recently held general elections in Gilgit Baltistan.

According to the details, Wazir Muhammad Saleem and Raja Nasir contested the polls from Skardu as independent candidates after not getting tickets from PTI. However, now they have joined PTI to form government in Gilgit Baltistan.

PTI had secured nine seats while PPP got four seats, PML-N grabbed two seats, MWM bagged one seat and independent candidates had declared victorious on seven seats in the Gilgit-Baltistan Legislative Assembly elections held on November 15.

There were 24 seats for the contest but elections were delayed in GBLA-3 following the death of PTI Gilgit-Baltistan President retired Justice Jaffer Shah from coronavirus.

As many as 330 candidates, including four women, were in the contest. At least 1,26,997 fresh voters had used right of vote in general elections of Gilgit-Baltistan.

It is pertinent to mention here that PTI won the most seats in the Gilgit-Baltistan Legislative Assembly elections but failed to get an outright majority.