Dhawan creates history, registers second consecutive century in IPL 13


DUBAI: Delhi Capitals’ opening batsman Shikhar Dhawan on Tuesday became the first player to register consecutive centuries in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL). Dhawan achieved the feat as he brought up his century against Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) in the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL).

Shikhar Dhawan

In the match against KXIP, Dhawan smashed 12 fours and 3 sixes to bring up his century off just 57 balls. “Back to back 100s for @SDhawan25. He is the first player to have consecutive centuries in IPL. Take a bow, Gabbar,” the official handle of IPL tweeted.

Along the course of this innings, Dhawan also completed 5000 runs in the IPL. As a result, Dhawan is now at the fourth position in IPL’s all-time leading run-scorer list. Co-incidentally, Dhawan also completed 10 years in international cricket on Tuesday. Earlier, Shreyas Iyer-led Delhi won the toss and opted to bat first against KXIP.

Before this match, Dhawan had scored a century against Chennai Super Kings (CSK) on Saturday at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

Great honour

Shikhar Dhawan expressed elation over completing 10 years of playing for the Indian cricket team and said “there has been no greater honour”.”10 years with Team India, 10 years playing for my country – there has been no greater honour. Representing my nation has given me memories for a lifetime, that I am always grateful for,” Dhawan tweeted.

Dhawan made his ODI debut for India on October 20, 2010, against Australia. The batsman then went on to make 136 appearances for the team in ODI cricket, amassing 5,688 runs with a high score of 143 runs.

In the next year, he made his T20I debut against West Indies. The 34-year-old has also played 34 Tests and scored 2,315 runs in the longest format of the game.

Currently, Dhawan is playing in the Indian Premier League (IPL), representing Delhi Capitals in the league. Recently, Dhawan smashed his maiden IPL century as he guided his side to a five-wicket win over Chennai Super Kings. Delhi Capitals will now take on Kings XI Punjab on Tuesday at Dubai International Stadium. (ANI)