Mumbai Indians clinch 4th IPL title after one-run victory over CSK


HYDERABAD [India]: Mumbai Indians (MI) defeated the defending champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by one run in the Indian Premier League (IPL) final here on Sunday to secure their fourth IPL title, the most number of titles than any other franchise.

Chasing a modest target of 150 runs, Chennai had an average start as both the openers, Faf du Plessis and Shane Watson, kept the scoreboard running. Du Plessis came out strikingly in the fourth over and hammered two fours and a six to Krunal Pandya. However, Du Plessis gave away his wicket in the same over which ended his 26 runs inning off just 13 balls.

Raina then joined Watson and both played cautiously till the 10th over, when Raina got out after scoring eight runs. Ambati Rayudu (1) then came out to bat but he too was sent back to the pavilion in the next over by Jasprit Bumrah.

Skipper Dhoni then took the field but in the 12th over Dhoni (2) got run out, owing to a direct hit by Ishan Kishan and the skipper fell an inch short. Dhoni’s dismissal brought Dwayne Bravo on the field.

Shane Watson, who scored his 19th IPL century, appeared to be so lucky that he was dropped thrice in the game, once by Lasith Malinga and twice by Rahul Chahar. Watson then made the most out of Krunal Pandya’s 18th over as he walloped three consecutive sixes.

In the next over, Bumrah provided his side with some relief as he got hold of Dwayne Bravo (15) and ended their 51-run stand. Ravindra Jadeja then took the field but Bumrah continued to bowl a superb spell but because of De Kock’s mistake, Chennai got four runs added to their scoreboard as he let go the ball after Jadeja missed the shot. 

In the last over, Shane Watson got run out which ended his impeccable knock of 80 runs off 59 balls. Shardul Thakur then came out to bat and smashed the ball for two which brought the game to a point where Chennai needed two runs off just one delivery.

But Malinga, who was the most expensive bowler from Mumbai’s side as he conceded 49 runs, got the wicket of Shardul Thakur which handed over Mumbai their fourth IPL title. (ANI)