Names of 172 individuals placed on ECL to be reviewed by committee


ISLAMABAD:  Federal Minister for Information Fawad Chaudhry on Wednesday declared that the list containing the names of 172 individuals placed on Exit Control List (ECL) in fake accounts case will be sent to a review committee, working under Ministry of Interior.

The Minister said the cabinet took stock of the issue of list of 172 people in Exit Control List in light of the observations of Supreme Court of Pakistan and decided to send the matter to ECL Review Committee, working under Ministry of Interior. He said the decision of adding or excluding names in the list will be taken according to the recommendations of the Committee which will brief the cabinet next week. Federal Cabinet has directed the Statistics Division to monitor the prices of items of daily use regularly and brief the cabinet on weekly basis.

Addressing media on cabinet decisions in Islamabad on Wedensday, Minister for Information and Broadcasting Chaudhary Fawad Hussain said the Division will monitor and collect data on prices of items of daily use in seventy six markets and forty cities and will submit its report to federal cabinet each week.

Chaudhary Fawad Hussain said the cabinet also decided to expedite the privatization of five units including Haveli Bahadur Shah, Lakhra Coal Mine, Services Hotel Lahore, divestment of government shares in petroleum companies and K-Electric.

The cabinet also established a committee of Land Bank headed by Defense Minister Pervez Khattak. It will identify 150 prime properties for use in various public sector projects and submit its report to the cabinet in its next meeting. The Minister said 9442 kanals of unused land has been identified at the federal level, 56000 kanal in Punjab and 5258 kanal in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa so far.

The Minister said cabinet also accorded approval to three additional posts of judges in Islamabad High Court. It will increase the number of judges from 6 to nine, in addition to Chief Justice. He said a Poverty Alleviation Coordination Council has been established that will work under Dr. Sania Nishtar. It has been tasked to coordinate the activities of various institutions at federal and provincial level in poverty alleviation.