Model Town tragedy: Imran Khan removes police officials from their posts


Nation special report
LAHORE: Prime Minister Imran Khan on Thursday ordered Chief Minister of Punjab to remove all those police officials from their status who were involved in Model Town tragedy.

This order is stated a first step of prime minister in dealing this incident in which atleast 14 people were shot dead in police action.

LAHORE: Sep 27 – Pakistan Awami Tehreek (PAT) Chief Dr Tahir-ul-Qadri addressing a press conference.

Before giving this order, Imran Khan held detailed talks with Pakistan Awami Tehreek (PAT) chief Dr Tahirul Qadri on phone and he assured him that justice will be served to the victims of the 2014 Model Town incident.

It is reported that the premier and PAT chief spoke via telephone a day after the Lahore High Court (LHC) rejected a petition to summon former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif and former Punjab chief minister Shehbaz Sharif in the Model Town case.

“We cannot allow those who killed innocent civilians to escape justice,” the premier was quoting as telling the PAT chief. “We will not any compromise on the implementation of law,” he added.

Vowing to bring all those involved in the incident before the courts without any discrimination, PM Imran said, “Immediate justice in civil and criminal cases is one of the top priorities of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf government.”

PAT chief in response said, “PM Imran has given a ray of hope to the families of the Model Town victims.” Thanking the premier, Qadri said, “PM Imran’s vision for upholding the law is commendable.”

At least 14 people were killed and 100 others injured in police action against Pakistan Awami Tehreek (PAT) workers in Lahore’s Model Town area during an ‘anti-encroachment operation’ on June 17, 2014.x

September On  26, the LHC dismissed a PAT appeal praying upon the court to summon Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) president Shehbaz Sharif and supremo Nawaz Sharif in the Model Town case.

The appeal was earlier filed by PAT challenging an anti-terrorismcourt’s verdict to summon the PML-N leaders.

The appeal named Nawaz Sharif, Shehbaz Sharif, Hamza Shahebaz,Rana Sanaullah, Khwaja Asif, Saad Rafique, Pervez Rasheed, Abid SherAli and Chaudhry Nisar as respondents and also requested the courtto render the ATC ruling inadmissible.

Former Inspector General (IG) Punjab Mushtaq Sukhera also challenged the petition regarding the inclusion of his name in the prosecution list and requested the removal of his name. Sukhera stated that he had no involvement in the incident which killed 14 people.