Dr. Alvi to take oath as 13th president on September 9


ISLAMABAD: Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Justice (r) Sardar Muhammad Raza on Wednesday had officially declared Dr Arif Alvi as the president-elect. In all, 1,110 members of the National and Provincial Assemblies and the Senate exercised their right to vote.

According to official results, the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate was elected as the 13th president of Pakistan with 352 votes.

Joint opposition candidate Maulana Fazlur Rehman bagged 184 votes and Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) candidate Aitzaz Ahsan received 124 votes.

Dr Arif-ur-Rehman Alvi, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) candidate, was Tuesday elected as the next President of Pakistan, after getting majority votes from an electoral college comprising members of the Senate, national and provincial assemblies.

Chief Justices of Islamabad, Lahore, Karachi, Quetta and Peshawar served as presiding officers while Chief Election Commissioner Sardar Raza was the returning officer.

Arifur Rehman Alvi Tuesday was elected 13th President of Pakistan, securing 353 electoral votes, as the members of the Senate, National Assembly and the provincial assemblies cast their votes.

Three candidates, Arif Alvi, Fazlur Rehman and Aitzaz Ahsan, were in the run for the presidency. Alvi secured overall 353 electoral votes while JUI-F chief Maulana Fazlur Rahman, with the support of opposition parties sans PPP-P, secured 185 votes and PPP candidate Aitzaz Ahsan bagged 124 votes, say the provisional results of the presidential election.

Talking to media persons after winning the election, President-elect Alvi said he was not just PTI’s president but that of the entire nation.

“I am grateful to Allah Almighty that the PTI-nominated candidate is successful in the presidential race today,” said Alvi and thanked Prime Minister Imran Khan for assigning him such a big responsibility.

The newly-elected President will take oath of his office on September 9 after the expiry of the five-year term of incumbent President Mamnoon Hussain.

According to the ECP’s results, total voters in the presidential election were 1,174 while 52 seats were vacant as their results were withheld or members-elect had not taken oath in the Senate and the assemblies. The remaining 1,122 voters were supposed to exercise their right to vote.

According to the results received from all the presiding officers, the number of voters who actually exercised their right to vote was 1,110 while 27 votes were declared invalid by the respective presiding officers. Thus the total number of valid cast votes was 1,083.

Of the 430 votes cast in both the houses of the parliament (the National Assembly and the Senate), PTI’s nominee received 212 votes, JUI-F’s Rehman secured 131 and PPP-P’s Aitzaz Ahsan got 81. Six votes were rejected for being invalid.

In the Sindh Assembly, the PPP candidate got 100 votes, PTI’s Arif Alvi bagged 56 and one vote was declared invalid.

In the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly, the PTI candidate received 78 of the total 109 votes while JUI-F chief Fazulur Rehman and Aitzaz Ahsan secured 26 and five votes, respectively.

Of the 61 voters of the Balochistan Assembly, 60 cast their votes while former CM Nawab Sanaullah Zehri was absent. According to the provisional results, PTI’s Arif Alvi secured 45 of the 60 votes and Maulana Fazlur Rahman got 15 votes whereas Aitzaz Ahsan could not secure any vote from this province.

The election via secret balloting commenced simultaneously in all the assemblies and the Senate at 10am and concluded around 4pm.