Imran allowed,Fawad, Abbasi and Danial disqualified from contesting polls


ISLAMABAD: An Election AppellateTribunal onWednesday allowed Pakistan Tehreek Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan to contest pollsfrom NA53 and disqualified PTI Spokesperson Fawad Chaudhry and Former Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi to contest elections from NA67 Jhelum and NA57 Murree respectively. Justice Mohsin Akhtar heard a case pertaining to the rejection of nomination papers of the PTI Chief by Returning Officer (RO) at NA 53.
Imran Khan appeared before the Tribunal in person and filled himself the column “N” on nomination papers. He mentioned histhree key contributionsincluding construction of Namal University, Shaukat Khanum Memorial Cancer Hospital and raising awareness among people to struggle for their constitutional rights. The tribunal set aside the decision of RO and allowed Imran Khan to contest polls. The Tribunal observed that the RO rejected nomination papers against the facts.
The Tribunal On Tuesday had accepted nomination papers of Shahid Khaqan Abbasi and Ayesha Gulalai from this constituency. On the other hand Appellate Tribunal disqualified Fawad Chaudhry after accepting the objections raised by the petitioner. Judge Justice Abdul Rehman Lodhi pronounced the disqualification verdict of the PTI Spokesperson.
Fawad Chaudhry was accused of tempering nomination papers. In an another decision the Appellate Tribunal disqualified Shahid Khaqan Abbasi to contest polls from NA 57 Murree. Tribunal Judge Justice Abdul Rehman Lodhi while announcing judgment onAbbasi’s nomination paper declared him ineligible. Meanwhile, Supreme Court (SC) has sentenced PML-N leader and former minister for privatization DaniyalAziz for contempt of court till rising of the court who has now become ineligible to hold any public office for five years.
He will also not be able to take part in the election process. A 3-member bench of SC announced the judgment of contempt of court case against Daniyal Aziz Thursday. Justice Mushir Alam read out the decision. The court sentenced him till rising of the court under article 204 of the constitution. As per law he remains no more eligible to contest polls in 2018 and he cannot hold any public office for five years as well.