Uncapped Abu Jayed in BD Test squad against Windies


DHAKA (Bangladesh): Uncapped seamer Abu Jayed has been named in the 15-man Bangladesh squad for the two-match Test series against West Indies, beginning July 4 at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium.
The 25-year-old made his international debut during a T20I against Sri Lanka in February this year and went on to feature in two more matches in the shortest format of the game for Bangladesh. However, he is yet to appear in ODI and Test match for his country.
Meanwhile, fast bowlers Rubel Hossain and Shafiul Islam–who both did not feature in the longest format of the game since the side’s tour to South Africa in 2017–have been recalled in the squad following their recent impressive performances.
While Shafiul ended among the top 10 wicket-takers in the Dhaka Premier League with 24 wickets from 13 innings, Rubel has recently featured for Bangladesh in the three-match ODI series against Afghanistan, ESPNcricinfo reported.
After getting a nod in the Test squad after nearly four years for the series against Sri Lanka, spinner Abdur Razzak has once again been left out for the Caribbean tour.
Meanwhile, seamer Nayeem Hasan, leg-spinner Tanbir Hayder and batsman Sabbir Rahman have all been also dropped from the national squad.
While Shakib Al Hasan has returned to lead the side after taking a break from the Test series against South Africa and missing the home Tests against Sri Lanka with injury, top-order batsman Nazmul Hossain Shanto has also been recalled.
Fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman, who had been sidelined for at least three weeks due to a toe injury recently, has been included among the standbys for the two Tests
All-rounders Mosaddek Hossain, Naeem Hasan, pace bowler Yeasin Arafat and Abu Haider Rony are all named as the standbys.
The players will report to national team head coach Steve Rhodes at the SBNCS, Mirpur on June 20. The Bangladesh side are scheduled to leave for the Caribbean on June 23 to play two Tests, three ODIs and three Twenty20 internationals.
The Bangladesh Test squad is as follows:
Squad: Shakib Al Hasan (capt.), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mahmudullah, Litton Das, Mominul Haque, Mehidy Hassan, Taijul Islam, Kamrul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Abu Jayed, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Shafiul Islam.(ANI)