2,965 candidates in run for 160 NA, PA constituencies in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, 111 election monitoring teams appointed


PESHAWAR: As many as 2,965 candidates are in the run for 160 constituencies of the national and provincial assemblies’ seats in different districts of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa for upcoming general election.
Following successful completion of the scrutiny process of nomination papers of candidates in KP, as many as 1,046 candidates were left in the electoral battle for 51 National Assembly (NA) and 1,919 candidates for 99 Provincial Assembly (PK) seats in different districts of the province. Official sources in Provincial Election Commission (PEC) told APP on Thursday that KP’s five NA and 13 Provincial Assembly constituencies had attracted maximum 364 candidates whereas only 10 candidates left in electoral battle in Torghar district.
A total of 224 candidates are in the run for national and provincial assemblies in Swat followed by 178 candidates in Mardan, 41 in Chitral, 76 in Dir Upper, 138 in Dir Lower, 62 in Malakand, 73 in Buner, 55 in Shangla, 74 in Kohistan, 52 in Battagram, 137 in Mansehra, 167 in Abbottabad, 47 in Haripur, 139 in Swabi, 115 in Charsadda, 110 in Nowshera, 67 in Kohat, 72 in Hangu, 73 in Karak, 87 in Bannu, 98 in Lakki Marwat, 31 in Tank and 119 in DI Khan. The nomination papers of 179 candidates including 36 candidates contesting elections on 36 NA seats and 143 PK seats were rejected in KP during scrutiny process which was completed on July 19.
The nomination papers of 22 candidates were rejected from Peshawar due to various technical and legal reasons.
All candidates from Battagram district were cleared for elections whereas the nomination paper of only one candidate was rejected from Torghar district.
The nomination papers of four candidates were rejected in Chitral, 10 in Swat, three in Dir Upper, 12 in Dir Lower, 5 in Malakand, six in Buner, two each from Lakki Marwat, Kohistan, Shangla and Bannu, 20 from Mansehra, 7 from Abbottabad, 13 in Haripur, 7 each in Swabi and Nowshera, 14 in Mardan, 8 from Charsadda, 9 in Kohat, six in Hangu, 10 in Karak, three in Tank and four in DI Khan due to various reasons.
These candidates have started submission of appeals in six members election appellate tribunals of Peshawar High Court (PHC) against the decisions of the returning officers (RO) in the province.
The appeals can be filed by June 22 in the respective tribunals and would be disposed of by June 27 in the province.
The tribunals comprising Justice Syed Afsar Shah and Justice Musarat Hilal will dispose of appeals of candidates for national and provincial assembly seats of Peshawar region at principal seat of PHC.
Justice Lal Khan at Abbottabad bench will dispose of appeals for Hazara region, Justice Muhammad Ghazanfar at Mingora bench for Malakand region, Justice Abdul Shakoor for Bannu region and Justice Ejaz Anwar Khan at DI Khan region accordingly.
111 monitoring teams
Meanwhile, the Election Commission of Pakistan has appointed one hundred and eleven monitoring teams in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa to monitor election campaign for general elections-2018.
According to an official notification, the teams will monitor election campaigns of the candidates both for the National and Provincial Assemblies, Radio Pakistan reported.