Pakistan says to continue support Kashmiris in their struggle


LONDON: To mark the solidarity with Kashmiri people living in Jammu & Kashmir, a meeting was organised jointly by the Pakistan High Commission London and Jammu Kashmir Self-Determination Movement International, in the British Parliament on 05 February 2018.

LONDON: Pakistan’s Acting High Commissioner, Zahid Hafeez Chaudhri, Raja Najabat Hussain, Lord Qurban Hussain, Imran Hussain MP, Naz Shah MP, M. Yasin MP, Raja Amjad Khan, M. Afzal MP, Raja Sikander Khan, Tariq Mahmood, Ch. M.Azeem, Ch. Dilpazeer, Shahid Iqbal, Raja Suleman,Amanullah Khan and other community leaders addressing at a seminar jointly organized by the Pakistan High Commission London and Jammu Kashmir Self-Determination Movement International, in the British Parliament on Monday. (Nation pictures Mushtaq Sandhu)

While addressing the meeting, a number of British Parliamentarians termed the human rights situation in J&K very concerning and said that “gross human rights violations of the Kashmiri people are genuinely shocking”. They urged India to immediately stop atrocities in IOK and resolve the long-standing dispute of Kashmir according to the resolutions of the United Nations.
Several Lords, MPs and MEPs addressed on the occasion while large number of Mayors, Councillors, Kashmiri leaders, members of the civil society and human rights organizations, Kasmiri community and media persons attended the seminar. Acting High Commissioner Zahid Hafeez Chaudhri urged the international community to come forward and call upon India to end its state terrorism in Kashmir.
Mr Chaudhri said: “Pakistan has proposed to the UN Secretary General to appoint a Special Envoy on Kashmir. I would like to iterate our proposal of a fact finding mission of the British Parliamentarians to both sides of Kashmir.” Mr Chaudhri condemned Indian brutalities in Kashmir and reiterated Pakistan’s political, diplomatic and moral support to the Kashmiri people for their right to self-determination. He stated that India’s unwillingness to resolve the Kashmir dispute through dialogue is adding to the miseries of the Kashmiri people. The Acting High Commissioner further said the United Nations and the international community recognize Kashmir as a disputed territory.
“Pakistan stands with Kashmiri brothers and sisters and will let no stone unturned in support to them”, he said. India complaints that Pakistan is supporting Kashmiris and we declare that yes we are supporting them because India is oppressing them and brutalities of Indian forces have made their lives a hell”, Pak senior diplomat said. The speakers voiced deep concerns over atrocities and human rights violations in Indian Occupied Kashmir by the Indian security forces, and demanded an immediate end to the draconian laws being exercised by the Indian security forces in IOK. Raja Najabat Hussain, Chairman Jammu Kashmir Self Determination Movement International expressed the hope that later this year another debate on Kashmir would be held in the British Parliament to highlight the plight of the Kashmir people and importance of the resolution of the dispute for regional peace and prosperity.
“Kashmir Solidarity Day” is observed every year on 05 February to demonstrate support for the right to self-determination of the people of Jammu & Kashmir. Members of the parliament from All party parliamentary group on Kashmir in the British parliament senior vice chairman Jack Brereton MP, Vice Chairman Barrister Imran Hussain MP,Shadow Immigration Minister Afzal Khan MP, Lord Qurban Hussain, Baroness Zahida Manzoor, Naz Shah MP and MP Mohammed Yaseen along with Kashmiri leadership Raja Amjad Khan Secretary General of the All party Kashmir CoordinationCommittee UK, Molana Mohammed Rafique Chishti, Sumaira Shahid Raja, Oxford Sheriff Cllr Mohammed Altaf, Chaudary Mohammed Azeem, Raja Sikander Khan, Chaudary Dilpazeer, Chaudary Tariq Mehmood Ratvi, Sardar Ikhlaq Ahmed, Zaffar Ahmad Qureshi, professor Shahid Iqbal,Ijaz Ahmed Sadique, Khawaja Mohammed Suleman, Chaudary Mohammed Aftab, Ghazanfer Mehmood, Amanulah Khan and others participated in the Conference.